2011 Victorian Architecture Awards

The following is an extract from the article written by James Staughton in Architectureau, where I am noted as being on the jury for the interior awards.The State Awards program is the signature event on the Victorian Chapter’s calendar and its prime opportunity to recognize architectural endeavour while showcasing its value to the wider community.This year has once again seen a record number of entries and, while the quality of the winning entries is evident, it has been widely noted that the quality of projects across the whole field continues to rise. The awards are only possible due to the committed involvement of many individuals, from the jury process to the organization of the program, so sincere thanks to all who have contributed their valuable time.After extensive deliberations, probing discussions and many kilometres by road, foot and, in one instance, helicopter, the winners have been chosen. Thanks go to all those who entered and congratulations to a fine array of award winners. – James Staughton (jury chair)


Victorian Architecture Medal AAMI Park by Cox Architecture [image 1].Public – New William Wardell Award AAMI Park by Cox Architecture [image 2]. Awards—Victoria University Learning Commons and Exercise Sports Science Project by John Wardle Architects [image 3]; Swinburne University Advanced Technologies Centre by H2o Architects [image 4]; Carrum Downs Police Station by Kerstin Thompson Architects [image 5].Public – Alterations and Additions Awards—Library, Deakin University Waurn Ponds by Six Degrees [image 6]; New Administration Centre, St Josephs College, by Bellemo & Cat [image 7]; Monash University Museum Of Art (MUMA), Caulfield, by Kerstin Thompson Architects [image 8]; Building I Lecture Theatre, Deakin University Burwood, by Woods Bagot [image 9].Small Projects Named Award—River Studios by Breathe Architecture [image 10]. Award—Habitat 21 Adaptable House by Antarctica + MAS [image 11].Commercial Sir Osborn McCutcheon Award Myer Bourke Street Redevelopment by NH Architecture [image 12]. Awards—Crown Metropol by Bates Smart [image 13]; 500 Bourke Street Redevelopment by John Wardle Architects [image 14].Interior Marion Mahony Award Monash University Museum Of Art (Muma), Caulfield, by Kerstin Thompson Architects [image 15]. Awards—Newmarket Hotel by Six Degrees Architects [image 16]; The Waiting Room by 1:1 Architects [image 17].Sustainable Named Award—Pixel, Carlton, by Studio505 [image 18]. Award—Hill Plains House by Wolveridge Architects [image 19].Urban Design Joseph Reed Award 500 Bourke Street Podium Development by John Wardle Architects [image 20].Residential – New Harold Desbrowe-Annear Award Sorrento House by NMBW Architecture Studio [image 21]. Awards—Law Street House by Muir Mendes [image 22]; Beached House by BKK Architects [image 23]; Westernport House by Sally Draper Architects [image 24].Residential – Alterations and Additions Awards—Foyn-Johanson House by Harrison and White [image 25]; Boston Villa by Nest Architects [image 26]; Zinc House by Denton Corker Marshall [image 27].Residential – Multiple Best Overend Award—A’Beckett Tower by Elenberg Fraser [image 28]. Award—John Street, Box Hill, by Hayball [image 29].Heritage Award East Melbourne Residence by Atelier Wagner [image 30]. Colorbond Award for Steel Architecture—AAMI Park by Cox Architecture [image 31]. Award—A’Beckett Tower by Elenberg Fraser [image 32]. Melbourne Prize-AAMI Park by Cox Architecture [image 33]. Regional Prize—Marysville Rebuilding Advisory Centre by Bamford-Dash Architecture [image 34]; La Trobe University, Shepparton, by Gray Puksand [image 35]; The Heights Community Building, Traralgon, by Adam Dettrick Architect [image 36]. Award for Enduring Architecture—No.1 Collins Street, 1983-4, by Robert Peck YFHK and Denton Corker Marshall, architects in association [image 37].


Chair of Juries – James Staughton. Commercial – Paul Katsieris (chair), Callum Fraser, Paul Minifie. Heritage – Philip Harmer (chair), Gabrielle Moylan, Ray Tonkin. Interior – Fiona Dunin (chair), Brenton Weisert, Jane Cameron. Public – New—Carey Lyon (chair), Shelley Penn, Diego Ramirez-Lovering, Des Smith, James Staughton; Alterations and Additions—Bob Sinclair (chair), Eli Giannini, Tom Jordan Residential – New—John Wardle (chair), Rachel Nolan, Jesse Judd; Alterations and Additions—Grant Amon (chair), Rodney Eggleston, Leanne Zilka; Multiple—Vanessa Bird (chair), Albert Mo, Reno Rizzo. Small Projects – Robert Simeoni (chair), Andrew Maynard, Matt Gibson. Sustainable – Peter Malatt (chair), Jane Toner, Jeremy McLeod. Urban Design – Peter Elliott (chair), Ninotschka Titchkoksy, Sarah Buckeridge. Colorbond Steel Award – Rowan Opat (chair), Chema Bould, Julie Firkin. Melbourne Prize – Greg Burgess (chair), Suzanne Dance, Wojciech Pluta. Regional Prize – Tony Styant-Browne (chair), Anne Cunningham, Scott Woodward. Bates Smart Award for Architecture in the Media – Roger Poole (chair), Jennifer Calzini, Tania Davidge. Awards Taskforce and Enduring Architecture Jury – Alfred de Bruyne (chair), James Staughton, Shelley Penn, Nigel Bertram,  Sally Draper, Tim Jackson.